Wednesday, May 09, 2007

Thiruvallore and Thiruneer malai. Chennai.

  1. Thiruvallore:

    this is One of 108 Divaya desams temples. The place is about 45 kms from Chennai. The place can be reached by rail route from Chennai to Arakonam. Busses are available from all places.

    Main deity: Sri Veeraraghava perumal in sleeping postureand his consort Kanakavalli thayar in different sanctum.

    Importaance: When Sali hothra muni was penancing here, Vishnu in the form of old man visited him and had lunch with him and after lunch he asked the muni to show the place for him to take a nap. Muni showed him the parnasala (kutil).

    Here he rested in his original form, in sleeping posture and hence the name Thiruvallore which was originally known as Thiru a vull.

    Maindeity: Veeragava perumal has rested his hand on the head of Salihothra muni, and his left hand depecting Gyana mudra to preach Brahma.

    There other deities like Vinayaka, Gopalan, Desikar, Andal, Lakshmi narashimar, Sudarshanar, Ananthan & Azhwar.

    This place is known as Punyavarthi kshetram. Everyone who worships here their good deeds multily and bad ones are waved. One who takes a dip in hruththapanasini pushkaram is relieved of all ailments. The perumal here is also known as Vaidya Veeraragava perumal.

  2. Sri perumbudhoore: Vishnu temple.

    the place is 31kms south west of Chennai.

    Main deity is Sri Adikesava perumal with Sridevi and Bhoodevi thayar in standing posture and Goddess Ethiraja valli thayar. Teertham is Anantha saras.

    Importance: The place is known as Aranyaranam, Boodhapuri. To get rid of Siva’s curse Boodha ganas penenced here and were blesaed by Vishnu. In turn, they built the temple for Vishnu and hence the place is known as Boodhapuri.

    There is an idol of Ramanujar here which was embraced by him. Other deities like Rama, Andal, Udayavar, Desikan, and Alavandhar are there. This is birth place of Ramanujar.

  3. Thiruneer malai:

    This is One of 108 Divya desam. the place is 25 kms from chennai.

    Main deity: Vishnu in 4 different forms together is one Divya desam

    Importance: On the top of hill three different types of deities, they are Ranganadhar, Narashimar and Tiruvikramar.

    Purana says after worshipping three deities on top hill, Valmiki muni came down and prayed thinking of Rama. For him Ranganadhar whom he saw appeared like Rama; Lakshimi like Janaki; Adiseshan like Lakshamana; Sanku and chakra as Baradha Satrugana; Viswakarma as Sugreeva, and Garuda as Hanuman.

    Then the Lord disappeared. Valmiki prayed and God appeared as Neervannan. Azwar and Andal sanctum are there.

    Teertham is Ksheera, Karunya, Siddha and Swarna pushkarani together as big pond known as Manikarnika. Rama here known as Kalyana raman.

    The up hill is known as Thoyadri malai, about 200 steps to climb. First we have darshan of Ranganadha swamy and Ranganayaki thayar. As we go around we see come to Thiruvikrama perumal in standing posture known as ulagalandha perumal, and third deity Santha Narashima in sitting posture. This place is considered as mukthi sthalam.