Saturday, August 10, 2013

Arulmigu Bhoovaraha Swamy Temple, Sri Mushnam, Cuddlore.

Sri Mushnam: Arulmigu Bhoovaraha Swamy Temple.

The place is about 21 kms to SE, from Vrudachalam. This kshetram is one of eight Swayam vektha Kshetram. The other Swayam vektha Kshetram are Sri Rangam, Vanamamalai, Tirupathy, Salagramam, Pushkaram, Naimisaranyam and Badrikasramam.

The main Raja gopuram of the temple is of seven storeys with three prakarams.

Main entrance of the temple.

As we enter the temple we see Garudakambam, and there is a small sanctum for Garudazwar.

Sthala Vruksham of the temple is Bodhi tree also known as Aswatha maram.

Teertham is Nithya Pushkarani, Sri Varaha teertham and Lakshmi Narayana Teertham.

Main deity is Sri Bhoovaraha Swamy of Saligrama stone, is seen in standing posture facing west and his head turned towards South. Ambujavalli Thayar is seen in separate sanctum. Urchavar, of this temple is known as Yagna Varaha Moorthy seen with Sridevi and Bhoodevi Thayar in Artha mandapam of the temple.

Vimanam under which Bhoovaraha Swamy resides is known as Bhavana Vimanam.

As we go around the prakaram we see Viswaksenar, Andal, Udayavar, Venugopalan, Kuzandai Amman, Vedanta Desikar, Thrumangai Azwar, Manavala ma munigal.
Thiru Kachhinambi Nammazwar is seen in separate sanctums.

Sthala Purana says when the earth was stolen by Hiranyasura; Lord Vishnu took the avatara as Varahar and killed the Asura. The earth was once again installed on the hood of Adiseshan.
Bodhi Tree / Aswatha tree and Tulsi were created from His two eyes and the sweat turned into Nithya Pushkarani.

Bhoodevi, sambaran, and Lord Krishna worshiped Bhoovaraha Perumaal.

After his mission was completed he stayed back in this place known as Sri Mushnam as Bhoovaraha moorthy to grace his devotees.

Narashimar Temple, Singrikudi, Cuddlore.

Singrikudi Narashimar Temple:

The place is about 14 kms from Cuddlore.

The temple Raja Gopuram is of five storeys with seven kalasam, facing east.

We see Dwajasthambam as we enter inside.

Sthala Vruksham of the temple is Vilwam.

Teertham of the temple is Jamadagni, Indra, Brugu, Vamana and Garuda.

Main Deity is huge Ugra Lakshmi Narashimar with sixteen hands holding various weapons. Kanakavalli Thayar is seen in a separate sanctum. Urchavar, in this temple is Prahladha Varadhan with his consorts Sridevi and Bhoodevi.

Other Deities seen in the temple as we go around are Viswaksenar, Andal, Ramar, Hanuman, Garuda, Alwars and Vishnu Durgai.

Something special in the temple is we see three Narashimar. In the main sanctum along with Ugra Narashimar, we see Yoga Narashimar and Bala Narashimar. To the left side within the sanctum, we see Neelavathi (Wife of Hiranyakashap) and to right we see Asuras, Prahladhan, Sukran and Vasistha Muni.

Purana says Prahaladhan penanced in Krishnaranya Kshetram on Lord Vishnu who blessed him gave darshan to him as Narashimar. Prahladhan prayed Lord to stay back in this place to grace devotees who worship “Him”. The place is known as Singri.

Indran, Garudan and Brugu muni worshiped Lord Narashimar of this place and were blessed. The king of Senchi worshiped Lord and renovated the temple during his regime. There are stone inscriptions seen in the temple.

The temple is well maintained and festivals are celebrated in grand manner.

Friday, August 09, 2013

Thiruvaheendi puram, Arulmigu Devanatha Perumal Koil. Cuddlore.

Thiruvaheendi puram: Arulmigu Devanatha Perumal Koil.   Cuddlore.

The place Thiruvheendara puram is about 3kms from Cuddlore towards Banrutti. It is about 25 Kms from Chidambaram.
This Temple in this place is one of 108 Divya Desam temples.

Dwajasthambam of the temple.

Main Deity:  Devanadha Perumaal in standing posture facing east. Markendeyar and Boodevi Thayar seen to either side of perumaal. Thayar here known as Sengamala Thayar.

Urchavar here known as Achudan

Teertham in this place is known as Garuda Teertham. This was brought by Garuda, hence the name. Due to the curse of a Rishi the water is red in colour during the Rainy Season

Sthala Vruksham is Vilvam.

As we go around the prakaram we see sanctums, of Vinayakar, Garudan, Ramar, Andal, Raja Gopalan, Azwar, and Desikar.

Steps leading uphill to Hayagreevar Temple.

Sthala Purana says When Lord Hanuman was carrying Sanjeeva Parvatham a piece fell here in this place. It has plants of herbal value and hence the part of Sanjeeva Parvatham is known as Oushada Malai.

Lord Brahma penance and worshiped Lord here hence the name Brahmachalam.

Temple corridor.

Lord Lakshmi Hayagreevar resides on this hill. Here we see Goddess Lakshmi seated on the right lap of Lord Hayagreevar which is unusual. There is a separate sanctum for Desikar.

Asura's fought with Deva's who sought the help of Lord Vishnu in this place which is known as Oushada Malai. Asuras worshiped Lord Brahma who asked them to seek the help of Lord Siva. When Deva's were defeated by Asuras, Lord Vishnu used Chakkaraudham against Asura’s. Asura’s were defeated by Lord Vishnu, who appeared before them as Brahma, Vishnu and Maheswara. Since Lord Vishnu acted as captain for Deva's hence, he is known as Devadhana Perumal. Lord Stayed back in this place known as Thiru Aheendra puram. The town was planned by Adiseshan hence the name Thiru Aheenrapuram.

Purana says perumal asked Garuda to fetch water for his thirst. Garuda was delayed and Adiseshan made a spring by hitting his tail on the ground and gave water to Perumaal and the spring is known as Sesha Teertham. Devotees worship the well by offering Jaggery, salt and pepper to get rid of their illness and suffering. This is a parihara sthalam for Ragu and Kethu.

Indra, Lord Brahma, Bhoomadevi, Markendeya, and Brugu Maharishi performed penance in this place. Acahrya Desikan resided her and wrote books. The house he resided here is known as Desikan Thiru maligai. There is an idol for Desikan in the temple.

Thirumangai Azwar and Acharya Desikan sung Hymns about the glory of Devanadha Perumaal