Tuesday, February 10, 2009

Koodal Azagar temple, Madurai.

  1. Azagar Temple or Koodal Azagar:

    This is One of 108 Divya Desam.
    The temple belongs to krutha yugam. The temple is between Kruthamala River and Vaigai River

    Main Deity:"Koodal Azagar" in sitting posture known as Vieuga Sundarajar, Vaikundanadhan and Goddess "Madura valli Nachiyar", in different sanctum. Sthala Vruksham: Kathali. {Plaintain} Teertham: Hema Pushkarani.

    Importance: The main sanctum vimanam here known as Ashtanga Vimanam which means eight sides and it represents eight letters Narayana. The temple is of three floors and we see koodal Azagar in three different forms.

    As we enter we see the main deity in standing posture known as Koodal Azagar, Second floor he is seen in standing posture as Soorya Narayanar and in third floor he is seen in sleeping posture as Ranganadhar.

    We see Navagrahas in the temple which is a rare thing in Vishnava temples. Purna says Deva architect Viswakarma designed and constructed the temple in Krutha yugam.

    Name: once there was heavy rainfall and living beings suffered a lot. They prayed almighty and he was pleased with the prayer and sent four clouds which joined in four directions, in this place and protected them. Hence the place is known as Thiru koodal.

No comments:

Post a Comment