- Annan Koil:
One of Thirunangoore Divya Desa Temples
The temple is in Thiru Velvikulam 8 kms from Seergazhi. The temple is known as Annan Koil.
Main Deity is Sri Annan Perumal in standing posture with Sridevi and Bhoodevi facing east. Urchavar is Sreenivasa perumal and Padmavathy Thayar. We see Thayar sannidhi of Poovar Thirumagal Nachiyar as we go around the prakaram. Pushkarani is known as Swetha Pushkarani, which is in front of the temple.
Sanctums of other deties seen in the temple are Garuda, Kumudha Valli Nachiyar, Nammazwar, and Manavala Ma Munigal.
Purana: Prince Swethan, son of King Dunduraman of soorya vamsam, was blessed with a life of only 9 years. Knowing this, Swethan had his Upadesam from Marutha Muni. He started penancing here in this place under a Vilva tree after having a dip in Swetha Pushkarani.
Lord Vishnu was happy with his prayers and blessed him a life like Markandeya.
Kumudha malar (flower) used to bloom in this pushkarani and Devalokha ladies used to pluck these flowers. Kumudha Valli Thayar with Kumudha malar was brought up by a Brahamin. King Thirumangai wanted to marry Kumudha Valli Nachiyar.
To marry her he had to fulfill certain conditions of her, finally he was known as Azwar and the King was known as Thirumangai Azwar. He married Kumudha Valli Thayar, here in this place. We see a separate sanctum for Kumudha Valli Nachiyar in the temple.
Importance: Perumal in this place is considered as elder brother of Tirupathy Balaji. Offerings to Balaji of Tirupathy can be offered in this place, if it is not possible for one to give the offerings at, Tirupathy due to various reasons
Showing posts with label King Vikramaditya. Show all posts
Showing posts with label King Vikramaditya. Show all posts
Friday, April 02, 2010
Thiru Vellakulam, Annan Koil.
Labels:
balaji,
Divya Desam,
Garudan,
King Vikramaditya,
Nachiyar,
Tirupathy
Saturday, August 29, 2009
Sri Ram Darbar, Ayodhya.
- Ram Darbar:
There is a big hall and in the hall we see idols of Sri Rama, sita and Lakshmana. We also see a set of small idols there. This is the palace where Sri Rama and his courtiers meet, and he ruled the kingdom from here.
- Bada sthan:
This is King Dasaratha's palace. Thre is a big hall we get to see the complete family. we see the idols of his four sons with their consorts Sri Rama and Sita, Lakshmana and Urvasi,Bharata and Mandavi , Sathrugana and Sruthakirthi.
- Bada Hanuman is just a gate way sort. Nothing much to see inside.
- Kala Ram Mandir:
The temple is constructed at the place where Sri Rama performed Aswamedha yaga. About 300 years ago Raja of Kulu built a new temple which was improved by Ahalyabai Kolkar of Indore in the year 1784. The main deity of Sri Rama is of black stone which was recovered from Sarayu River. The temple is near Nageshwarnath temple and it was closed when we went there.
- Nageshwarnath temple:
We reach the temple after crossing the bridge which was also constructed in the same year 1784.
The temple was built by Prince Kusha, Sri Rama's son.
According to legend this was the only place survived till the time of King Vikramaditya and rest of the city was ruined and covered by forest. King Vikramaditya located the city Ayodhya, with the help of this temple.
Prince Kusha lost his armlet which was lost when he had his bath in River Sarayu. Nagakanya picked the armlet and gave it to Prince with whom she fell in love. Nagakanya was a devotee of Lord Siva, so Prince Kusha built this temple for her.
Inside the sanctum we see Lord Siva in linga form, and a Dara pathra is hanging above the Siva Lingam. we see Ganesha to the front of main sanctun. Here we see different forms of Lord Siva's painted to walls. There is a seperate sanctum for Adi Siva Lingam. The present temple was built in the year 1750.
Labels:
Aswamedha yaga.,
Darbar.,
Hanuman,
Kala ram,
King Vikramaditya,
Kusha.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)